Amber Rose, The Slut Walk & The Walk of No Shame

Amber Rose is a feminist and just know, that by saying Amber Rose’s version feminism is too one dimensional is as revelatory as saying she dated Kanye.

Recently, Amber Rose (and her best friend, Blac Chyna) have been making headlines all over the nation following the announcement of Amber Rose’s SlutWalk and the release of her free-spirited skit in collaboration with Internet sensation, “Funny or Die”, entitled “The Walk of No Shame”.  Amber Rose made an announcement on Twitter this past summer, that she’ll be leading her very own SlutWalk. The SlutWalk concept is not one created by Rose. SlutWalk is a transnational movement of protest marches, which originated on April 3, 2011, in Toronto, Ontario. There were subsequent rallies following the initial march, all over the world. During a SlutWalk, participants come together to protest against explaining or excusing rape by referring to any aspect of a woman’s appearance, and the ultimate call for an end to rape culture. Overall, the goal of a SlutWalk has grown and thrived and Rose is now using it to promote the provocative, unapologetic movement for total Women’s empowerment. The Website for Amber’s SlutWalk states that proceeds and donations will go towards ” bringing this event to life with on-site services such as HIV testing, sexual awareness booths, food vendors, merchandise vendors and a host of other services. But most importantly, your donation will support our foundation and groups and organizations of women who have been subject to slut shaming, a lack of double implication of double standards, sexual assault and even rape.” 

While researching Amber Rose’s latest business venture, I see that there have been so many articles, tweets and videos shared in regards to Amber’s latest work. I must say, reading the comments is a real downer for me. The slander is atrocious, obnoxious and just damn evil. I think regardless of how you view the role of a woman, the fact will always remain that people live alternative lives and should be respected regardless of another person’s individual beliefs. All the name calling and demeaning phrases are just ruthless for no reason. Every time I’ve heard this woman speak it has come from what I perceive to be a genuine, real place. I don’t understand the angst. I agree with Amber and I interject by saying: Have your “real” woman, but let me live without your constant ridicule of how I see that world in comparison to how you see that world.

Check out this video:

http://https://www.facebook.com/blackppltv/videos/824665264297300/

In this video, a young woman mercilessly slams Amber Rose and condemns her efforts to do what she describes as “promoting whorism”.
After sharing the video on my Facebook page and adding that I disagree with the woman’s sentiments, one of my Facebook friends asked me to elaborate on exactly what I disagreed with.
My answer?
Everything.
I responded with:
She completely misunderstood what Amber Rose is trying to do. Personally, I feel like before you can agree and/or disagree with a movement, you need to understand it. You can’t slam and belittle what you don’t understand. I also disagree with her “Only in America….” comments. We only focus on the fact that “Black women are sexualized & degraded…” but neglect the fact that some women choose to “sexualize” themselves. Amber Rose’s mission wasn’t to promote “whorism”, it’s her form and her method for female empowerment. Regardless of how I personally feel about her execution, this woman has it all backwards.. I support Amber’s goal but I myself would go about it differently. However, I wouldn’t slam her either way. The woman in this video spoke on how Amber Rose perpetuates a certain stereotype but fails to realize that she’s perpetuating and adding to the myth that black women are “competitive” and “can’t get along”.
 tumblr_ntx6fbMamw1qh9nffo1_1280
It is imperative that in times like these, black women stick together. If we feel the urge to speak on something involving another black woman, it should be done in a sisterly manner, meaning that is should be out of love, true compassion, and genuine concern. I believe that blacks need to keep in mind that issues regarding the black community need to be handled within the black community. It should not be available for white people to agree and/or disagree or co-sign with. It has NOTHING to do with them.
I must say this: we must understand that no one concept exists solely on it’s own. The connotation of slut will always be negative considering that it has been a form of oppression for women for years. No matter how sexually liberated I may be, I don’t want to be called a slut. I am not here to police Amber’s method of female empowerment. I support her GOAL to the fullest extent. However, I’m not sure if it’s the most progressive movement happening right now.
tumblr_ntx9ruhaE51tmtd60o1_1280
The SlutWalk in itself is a movement I can’t rock with due to the pitfalls in its philosophy and the way it, like most movements, tends to alienate the universal and incomparable experiences of sexual oppression faced by Black women every where, every day. On Sept. 27, 2011, the members of Black Women’s Blueprint (BWB) published a letter to the organizers of SlutWalk that essentially served d as the relentless read of a lifetime. In the writing, the author breaks down all the parts of SlutWalk’s ideology that are problematic for Black women.
This is why I consistently stress that we need our own units of…everything. I am proud of Amber for taking on such a large platform to combat an even larger issue. This is a woman who has been living her life in the same manner that some “regular” women have but is subjected to so much scrutiny and disrespect because she is living her life in the public eye.
What I would like to see happen is for Amber to really educate herself on the deeper history of black women. That encompasses African women, African-American women, Afro-Latina Women, Caribbean & West Indian Women, Afro-Asian, Afro-Russion and so many more women that are living horrors as a direct result of the diaspora. A platform that is solely for this would mean so much more. But, is Amber even interested in creating a platform and an organization that focuses on these issues and black women in particular.
Leave a Reply

